Wednesday, 29 June 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (2)

Darkfall by Janice Hardy

These books are amazing. And so is Janice Hardy who never runs out of useful things to write about on her blog. I have a feeling this final book will be amazing.

Rage Of Lions by Curtis Jobling
There is no description on Goodreads, which is pretty awesome in its own way. Leaves you open for anything = ) I can't wait to see delve back into the epic WereWar!

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking The Spine

Will You Still Love Tomorrow? - Claudia Carroll

Absence makes the heart grow fonder…doesn’t it?

What happens when two people decide to give themselves the year off…from each other?

Annie and Dan were the perfect couple. But now the not-so-newly weds feel more like flatmates than soul mates and wonder where all the fun and fireworks went …

When Annie lands her big break in a smash-hit show that’s heading for the bright lights of Broadway, she’s over the moon. Goodbye remote Irish village of Stickens, hello fabulous Big Apple! But with their relationship already on the rocks, how will Annie and Dan survive the distance?

They’re hitting the pause button on their marriage. One year off from each other – no strings attached, except a date to meet in twelve months at the Rockefeller Centre to decide their fate.

Will they both turn up? Or is it too late for love?

Lose yourself in a fabulously entertaining and poignant love story – perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes.

Will you still love me tomorrow is the first book I’ve won from Good reads and I had no idea what to expect from it, but I shall read more books from this genre after the pleasant surprise I got from this one.

The story starts in a unique setting in the moors in Ireland, where Annie, a talented theatre actress moved out of Dublin to be with her perfect husband Dan, all her friends are jealous of her living the perfect life but really she’s miserable. Dan in a way is so perfect that he’s not. He owns a veterinary and is the town hero, always happy to help, and a lot of the times, too happy to help. Leaving Annie with nothing to do and no one to talk to.

I really felt for Annie, who was away from her friends and family to be with her husbands family and puts up with so much and I completely understood her dilemma, how can she be so selfish to demand Dan’s time when he’s out there working so hard for others. But at the same time how much longer can she suffer in silence?
 When Annie get’s an offer to act in a play in New York we see the old phoenix ignited in her again. Both Dan and Annie go through all kinds of trails and errors as they face the world without each other.
It’s not like my usual urban fantasies with twists and deaths at every chapter, this was a much smother and real pace; though I predicted the end, I still went along for the ride and was curious to know how the characters will get there.
Claudia Carroll has such a vivid style and description of her characters, I could imagine them living down my street.
It’s a great choice for your summer read. 

Sunday, 5 June 2011

In my mailbox #6 And TV musings

Hosted my The Story Siren

Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow?
I won this won from Goodreads, first book I've won from them. It was pretty good not my usual genre but I gave it a shot and it was eerily relatable to my life : o

I won the red box set a while back from penguin books but never told you guys, I'm reading Last Sacrifice but for some reason I can't get into it. I know, I thought I'd be glued since it was the final book, but it's just not interesting me at the moment. Hopefully it changes my opinion. But the red versions are cool and the blood at the top right never gets old. 

Now that Vampire diaries is over I've resorted to Game of Thrones and Camelot as my TV filler is anyone else watching them too? 

Game of Thrones is awesome and I can't wait to devour the books! I suspect they will be my next blog layout.

Whereas Camelot is rather crap tbh, It's like Skins they have really good sets and designs but really bad writers... Nonetheless it was still somewhat entertaining. Oh and that guy has been cast as Jace if you didn't already know. I personally don't think he's Jace at all but then again I don't like him as Arthur either. 
What's in your mailbox?